The Equality Act 2010 relates to people defined under the following nine protected characteristics:

  • Age
  • Sex
  • Disability
  • Race
  • Religion and belief
  • Gender re-assignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Sexual orientation
  • Pregnancy and maternity

Under the Equality Act people are not allowed to discriminate, harass or victimise another person because they have any of the protected characteristics. The Act also requires the public sector bodies must have “due regard to the need to”:

  • Eliminate unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimisation
  • Advance equality of opportunity
  • Foster good relations between different groups

The term “due regard” means that the body is required to consciously consider these aims when making decisions about policy or practice which would affect people, including:

  • how a public authority acts as an employer
  • how it develops policies
  • how it designs and delivers services
  • how it procures services


Equality Act update 2013

Date added: 07/02/2014

The Equality Act 2010 identified nine protected characteristics; age, sex, disability, race, religion and belief, gender re-assignment, marriage and civil partnership, sexual orientation and pregnancy and maternity.

The attached report is an update on population level data sources relating to these characteristics.

Equality Act update 2013, Word document.

Please note: we are currently updating the West Sussex JSNA site so please check back soon for updates.